Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Creating a binary tree in C

This topic is 5647 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to C language, and i want help regarding the binary tree ie how to create one(i know creating linked list,stacks & queues).I am trying to make a compression program using huffman algoritm .If any one can help me in this ,please reply.Also tell me names of good books regarding data structures using C/C++.If there is a good site related to above please also tell me that.

Your question is in no way related to C - you, sorry, lack any sort of deeper understanding on how a binary tree works, otherwise you would figure out how to make one in C easily.

Get some basic books on algorithms ans data structures - not sure what to suggest right now, look them up in amazon.

Thomas

Hmm, I don't know how a remote control really works, otherwise I could build one myself...

Binary trees just use a node with a data element, a left pointer, and a right pointer. The reference to the tree itself is just a pointer to the top node. All nodes may or may not have a left and right branch (If a given direction has no branch, that pointer is set to NULL). Making the binary tree is just a matter of creating nodes and attaching them to the left or right pointer of a given parent node. The end nodes would have both the left and right pointers equal to NULL. What the data element looks like is totally up to you.