• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

force_of_will

Begining :)

This topic is 5865 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a ROOKIE in programig so i jave a few questions to make My questions are simple: a) what do we need to know to begin serious game programing b) what are the books you think are the best to learn c++, Mfc, and opengl, and all other ESSENCIAL things to make a real complete game thanks and happy coding to all

Advertisement
I hate to sound so...unfriendly, but please, just use the GDNet Search button.

Just do a little query for "where do i start" or "beginner help". There are countless threads and topics which go into depth for helping newcomers. Good luck.

quote:
Original post by Laroche
MFC certainly isn''t "essential" to Game Programming.

Well, in some ways it is. To make a "complete" game, you usually need to use tools of some kind..like a map editor. If you want to make your own, MFC can come in handy. Perhaps that''s what he meant.

I can understand that in that context, but I mean there are definatly other options to consider. For example, using VB, which is much less complex, and faster to develop.

edit: I mean for the map editor

[edited by - laroche on June 30, 2002 9:18:37 PM]

When i say MFC I as talking about litle demos, or big things like level editors

thanks to all of you guys that care

PS: I Know there is a link for beginers but i want the opinions of those of you that already have bought some of the books

quote:
Original post by force_of_will
When i say MFC I as talking about litle demos, or big things like level editors.

MFC still isn''t essential. It''s useful, but not essential.

quote:

PS: I Know there is a link for beginers but i want the opinions of those of you that already have bought some of the books