Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

pt

Own math lib - to write, or not to write...

Elo all I''ve just started writing my first 3D-math library (I''m absolutly new to 3D graphics) but I wonder if this is a good idea. I have some math background about matricies, vectors etc., and I know that graphical APIs (i.e. ogl and dx) have their own helper functions for 3D math. I already have basic operations (multiplications, rotations etc.) in my lib and now it''s time for projection matricies, world transformations and so on. The reason for writing such a lib is api independence... I was thinking about future improvements like translating lib functions to asm (using SIMD instructions). so, my questions 1) is it worth to bother writing own lib? 2) what about efficiency in comparison to dx/ogl implementations? 3) what about api independence? and finally how do you do your math? p.s. excuse my english, since it''s definitely not my native language, but I''m doing my best

quote:
1) is it worth to bother writing own lib?

Depending on how specialized your application is, it might be. On the other hand, there are a lot of really good math libraries out there; do a web search.

quote:
2) what about efficiency in comparison to dx/ogl implementations?

For what DX/OGL do (linear algebra) you''re unlikely to beat them. But there are a lot of things you shouldn''t look to those APIs for--collision detection, visibility culling, etc.

quote:
3) what about api independence?

If you''re going for API independence, math is the least of your worries. There just isn''t much difference between different matrix classes. That said, if you must have it, you''re better off not using DX (for obvious reasons).

quote:
And finally how do you do your math?

I''ve whipped out matrix and vector classes that work very well for what I need them for. Beyond that, pencil, paper, and my trusty TI-86.

quote: