Setting the view matrix up

Started by
2 comments, last by Drath 21 years, 8 months ago
I am currently using DX7. I have DX8 on another computer but I cannot bother downloading DX when 9 is just around the corner. The question isn''t very specific though: How can I manipulate the view matrix? I can translate it easy enough: D3DMATRIX matView; matView._11 = matView._22 = matView._33 = matView._44 = 1.0f; matView._12 = matView._13 = matView._14 = matView._41 = 0.0f; matView._21 = matView._23 = matView._24 = matView._42 = 0.0f; matView._31 = matView._32 = matView._34 = matView._43 = 0.0f; matView._43 = camera.zpos; matView._42 = -0.5f; matView._41 = camera.xpos; pd3dDevice->SetTransform( D3DTRANSFORMSTATE_VIEW, &matView ); But I have no clue how to set the rotation. I was thinking of building a rotation matrix then changing _43, _42 and _41 but I have no clue how to set up a rotation matrix... Incase anyone hasn''t noticed I am new to DX. Thanks...
Advertisement
You set the camera's orientation by using three vectors representing the camera's current three axes: right, up, and look-at (or u, v, and n respectively). These three vectors collectively describe the camera's orientation in space.

Make sure that these vectors are always perpendicular to each other and normalized every round, and set them into the view matrix like this:

m_ViewMatrix._11 = m_Right.x;	m_ViewMatrix._12 = m_Up.x;m_ViewMatrix._13 = m_LookAt.x;m_ViewMatrix._21 = m_Right.y;m_ViewMatrix._22 = m_Up.y;m_ViewMatrix._23 = m_LookAt.y;m_ViewMatrix._31 = m_Right.z;m_ViewMatrix._32 = m_Up.z;m_ViewMatrix._33 = m_LookAt.z;    

To rotate your camera, of course, you have to rotate each of the three vectors appropriately. One way to do this is to create a rotation matrix with one of the D3DXMatrixRotation...() functions and then transform the uvn vectors by this matrix.

I believe Graphics Gems 1 has an article about view cameras, as do articles on this site and perhaps on Gamasutra.com.

(edit: grammar)