• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Cybertron

OpenGL 'Vertex Buffer' in OpenGL?

This topic is 5955 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to OpenGL and was wondering what it uses as an equivilent to ''vertex buffers'' like in D3D? Are there any other major differences that I should be aware of?

Advertisement
Vertex Arrays. The differences aren''t huge, but the syntax might be strange. The functions you''ll want to look at are
-glEnableClientState(), glDisableClientState()
-gl*Pointer(...) where * is EdgeFlag, Index, Normal, TexCoord, Vertex, or Color. You don''t have to specify an array for each; just enable the ones you need and send a pointer for each of them
-glDrawArrays, glDrawElements, glDrawRangeElements, glArrayElement

This tutorial covers vertex arrays and their relation to multitexturing.
Little more info here...
Probably most useful:A simple spinning cube using vertex arrays. Beware the code, though. It''s not the most efficient.

G''luck.
ZE.

//email me.//zealouselixir software.//msdn.//n00biez.//
miscellaneous links

Thanks alot! It looks like I can even use the same type that DX uses for the verticies, normals and colors

One more question: I know OpenGL uses a matrix stack, while D3D uses 3 separate matricies. Is there any way I can emulate the 3 separate matrices in OpenGL? I am guessing I just need the ''view'' and ''world'' matrices to make a modelview matrix

quote:
Original post by Cybertron
One more question: I know OpenGL uses a matrix stack, while D3D uses 3 separate matrices. Is there any way I can emulate the 3 separate matrices in OpenGL? I am guessing I just need the 'view' and 'world' matrices to make a modelview matrix