Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

making something move in 2d

This topic is 5619 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''m a beginner in game programming. What is the simplest way to make an image (of a person) move around the screen depending on which arrow keys the user presses? What is the syntax? Can anyone help me? any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. P.S. Once again, I am a beginner, so please explain to me what''s going on.

There are 3 main parts of this you''ll need to know how to program.

* The movement logic (easy - just store the position on screen as X&Y coordinates).

* The graphics (harder - you''ll probably need to learn DirectDraw).

* The input (easyish - you''ll probably need to learn DirectInput).

If you have a good grip on your programming language of choice, then move on to following the tutorials in the DirectX SDK.

The SDK is available on the Microsoft site, and comes with Visual C++ as part of MSDN.

Helpful links:
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Google can help with your question | Search MSDN for help with standard C or Windows functions

For graphics, don''t necessarily rule out OpenGL as well. While DirectX is fairly necessary for all the other aspects, graphics can be done in a somewhat simpler syntax. Of course, I don''t have any experience with DirectX, and I should probably start. Then again, I am also a Linux fan, and cross-platform support is important for me. I should also learn SDL. Darn lack of knowledge! B-)

I think you will have to do this steps:
1. Set up everything to be able to draw at all (one can even use win API for this)
2. Load your graphics
3. Prepare for getting user input (Direct Input or WinAPI)
4. Enter a loop which does the following:
a) Fetch user input
b) if(left) x--; if(right) x++; if(up) y--; if(down) y++;