Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Xarragon

OGL Hardware & Performance - How are they related?

Hi, Im quite new to 3D programming, I started out with NeHe´s tutorials some months agoe, and have now read several books on the subject, made some simple, and some more advanced applications using OpenGL. I have a quite good understanding of basic 3D concept, such as homogenous space coordinates, affine and vector spaces, linear algebra and complex numbers, and the way many of these work together. Most of this knowledge have been adapted from www resources, but since I have just finished what should be the swedish correspondense to the us High School, and since I choosed a "Science Line"(or whatever, you get the picture, right?) quite a bit of what we learned in school about those subjects aided me alot... Ok, enough ego-stroking... My interest right now is to learn more about performance optimization and implementation. I have a small game project underway, basically a simple space shooter witch i started on for learning purposes... I grabbed the Nvidia SDK, hoping for some optimization tricks there, but found them to be either too basic ("use display lists") or very high level. Now I looking for two distinct subjects. The first is how OpenGL interacts with hardware, i.e, how do I load vertex arrays into video memory? When i create a display list, is it stored in Video memory? The next subject is implementation of 3d rendering on "professional" projects. How do you separate the triangle generation from the game code that receives user input? Are there any guidelines for this? Is there any examples? Do you implement a "message queue" for the renderer as well? Such as "Draw this polygons _here_, please" ? I´ve grabbed some source code here and there, but so far I´ve seen none with some separation of game and rendering code... The questions posed here was only examples of what Im looking for, since I have some trouble specifying myself