Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

roger_hq

Loading 24-bit bitmaps from resource files in Visual Studio 6.0

Hello, Im pretty new to DirectX and game programming, and I have a pretty basic question. I am writing a 2D scroller game which loads 16 or 24 bit color bitmaps into DirectDraw 7 surfaces. Currently, I am loading them from a file in game's directory structure. The problem with this is that a user can go into those files and modify them however they want, so the bitmaps could be changed to look differently than what I originally created. I wanted to be able to keep my artwork unmodified when I release the game. My idea was to create the images used by the game as resources in Visual studio, so the end user does not have access to them. The problem is, that when I load images from a resource and not a file, the image is only loaded with 4 bit color (which I believe is the default palette for a bitmap resource). I obviously want to keep the 24 bit palette that the image is actually created in. Therefore, the question is, how do I make bitmaps loaded from a resource keep the color depth that the image is saved as? Thanks in advance, roger_hq [edited by - roger_hq on August 14, 2002 3:15:07 PM]

Using LoadImage() it should load fine, as long as you then load the resulting HBITMAP into your surface correctly. Ugh, I haven''t had the need to mess with this stuff for a while, I''ll paste you some code from an older (and not currently in use) bit from my graphics classes that I believe worked correctly, if not then play with the LoadImage flags, I don''t remember what CREATEDIBSECTION did:

// try to load the bitmap as a resource

hBMP = (HBITMAP) LoadImage( GetModuleHandle(NULL), strBMP,
IMAGE_BITMAP, dwDesiredWidth, dwDesiredHeight,
LR_CREATEDIBSECTION );

You can try that, I think I copy pasted that out of Microsoft''s DDUtil or something in fact.