Need some guidance

Started by
4 comments, last by x-bishop 21 years, 8 months ago
Ok, I am definately going to start to program some 3D games but im currently a broke University student and im looking for free ways to learn mostly graphic rendering *theory*..some pseudo code and sample code is ok...ill take anything i can get but i would prefer material that would resemble a textbook format heres alittle background.. I''m a forth year Computer Science undergrad so I''m not at all afraid to tackle any mathematics, im comfortable coding in C/C++/Java and both 68k/SPARC ASM, pretty much anything thats imperative. i know my basic data structures and algorithms, ive implemented my own simulator for a (harvard based ) CPU architecture as well as basic Operating System duties ( (VM) memory & cache management and implemented a simple compiler ..using primarily front end stuff (scanning/parsing/semantic analysis/sparse optimization and linking) using flex/lexx/YACC/Bison ok this sounds alittle like a resume..but i typed this just to let everyone know that im actually looking for more advanced theory on rendering/engine design i have to start from the beginning, i have created an automaton based game using the console as an interface and i would love to polish it up and move it over to 3D ...kind of like a DOS checkers to DirectX all the resources here are articles and im not quite sure where i can begin...id like to get a prototype up and running asap, akin to the software engineering concept of spiral development or maybe versioning ...can anyone guide me?
Advertisement
The DirectX 7 (good for DirectDraw/2D) and 8.1 (Direct3D) Software Development Kits (SDKs) are excellent resources. They''re available for free from Microsoft''s site. (something like http://msdn.microsoft.com/directx/ or so, do a search on microsoft''s download site if that doesn''t work)