Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PeekMessage

This topic is 5589 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, First I know how to use Win32 but ive never done a message loop using PeekMessage. I just started learning some GL and just changed my message loop to use peek message now instead it looks like this:

BOOL bRet = FALSE;
while(!bRet)
{	::PeekMessage(&msg, hWnd, NULL, NULL, PM_REMOVE);
	if(msg.message == WM_QUIT)
	{	bRet = TRUE;			
	}
	else
	{	glWin.Render();
		TranslateMessage(&msg);
		DispatchMessage(&msg);		
	}
}

The problem is that when I exit the program the applications process is still active. This happens no matter what I have tried, I know that with GetMessage this happens if you use a HWND for the window handle instead of null, so I tried that and the problem still ocurs. If needed I can post more code. Thanx in advance [edited by - xds4lx on August 26, 2002 10:29:24 PM]

Actually I just found out what the problem was. It occured if i trped the WM_DESTROY message. So I just changed my WM_CLOSE handler to this:

case WM_CLOSE:
{ if(MessageBox(NULL,"Sure you want to exit?","Close?",MB_YESNO) == IDYES)
{ PostQuitMessage(0);
}
return(0);
}

case WM_CLOSE:
{ if(::MessageBox(NULL,"Sure you want to Quit?","Close?", MB_YESNO) == IDYES)
{ ::DestroyWindow(hWnd);
}
return(0);

}
case WM_DESTROY:
{ PostQuitMessage(0);
return(0);
}

Im just wondering if anyone knows why the origional way I was handling shut down didnt work? It works for all other windows applications ive done (non 3D related)

WM_CLOSE default action is to call DestroyWindow(), and WM_DESTROY is sent when window is being destroyed.

"The PostQuitMessage function indicates to Windows that a thread has made a request to terminate (quit). It is typically used in response to a WM_DESTROY message." - MSDN