• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lews

OpenGL OpenGL "Jaggies"

This topic is 5899 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, This is surely a newbie question, as I am new to OpenGL and it seems relatively straight forward. Here we go: I have a quad, that I''m using to represent the ground, and a grey cube, a corner of which is poking up above the plane, making a little hill. This works great when the camera is right up close to the hill, but as it moves further away, the edges of the hill get rather jaggy. Here is a small screen shot: http://www.stanford.edu/~jjshed/jaggies.gif. I assume that there''s probably some depth-testing command that I can use to smooth these jaggies out. Can anyone lend me a hand? Thanks

Advertisement
Always push the near clipping plane as far out as is acceptable (it''s the penultimate parameter in gluPerspective). Try increasing it to 1.0f, or perhaps more. A good trick would be to increase it more the further away the camera is. For example, you could calculate the how close to the camera the nearest object is, and make the near clipping plane just a bit before that.

"Antiaiasing Polygons"...

glEnable(GL_POLYGON_SMOOTH);
edit
Oops, I made the above post before I actually looked at that picture. It does seem like your cube is disapppering, meaning leaving the viewing volume (what you can see at any given time)
edit

[edited by - Shadow1234567890 on August 27, 2002 4:29:23 PM]

No, it''s not leaving the view volume. This is definitely a Z-fighting issue caused by the imprecision of the Z-buffer, as suggested by Sibbo. Once again, you can fix it by making the near clipping plane as far from you as possible.

Btw, Sibbo, it''s been ages since I''ve heard anyone use the word ''penultimate.'' You just made my day

Later,
ZE.