Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What book do u recommend

This topic is 5587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, i am a beginner in direct 3d i bought a book: the Zen of direct3d and read it all, it gave me a good introduction after reading the directX SDK documentation from microsoft, but the book has many drawbacks, it teach bad habbits, ugly code, and errors, after it i bought Tricks of the windows game programming gurus to learn about AI, Physics, game making .. i thinked about: Programming Role-Playing Games with DirectX or Beginning direct3d game programming or so. can you recommend me a book?

can''t go wrong with Dempsky''s "Tricks and tips ...somethn'' ...DirectX 8" - even tho like 1/3 of the book is for beginner it has advanced stuff too. Not the perfectly written book but very good nevertheless.

check book section of the site

Programming Role-Playing Games with DirectX

Its great, and its written by the moderator of this very forum. Contains an absolute tonnage of info useful to game developers

I went to buy that book last night at Barnes & Nobels and it wasn''t there

I guess I have to order it online, which I was trying to avoid cause my credit cards are killing me lately.

As you said you''re self the Zen book do have some strange and ugly code, but it does explain a great deal

The RPG book isn''t great either, he talks alot about RPG stuff like mana points and I guess that is things that should be in a RPG book but if you want to learn DirectX this shouldn''t be the only book you get.
1. The animated models works in a strange speed, open them in the mesh viewer and you''ll see (found in the DX SDK)...there for he has slowen everything down.
2. ALL books (except his) talks about DON''T lock the frame rate. He has everything looked at 30fps.