Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Would you play this?

This topic is 5577 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I've been working on a game for a few weeks now, I've nearly finished the terrain engine and I've started working on the multiplayer code. OK, so here's the idea for the game The game is played in a large area of terrain with hills and water. The players control tanks which can go anywhere (except in water) in the playing area. The other players will be both AI controlled and human controlled. So far, that's it. There will be various weapons and vehicles, eventually. There's a work in progress demo here . The other players are just red blocks at the moment (hey I'm no artist!) What I'd like is for people to kindly try the demo and let me know if you think it could be a game you'd enjoy playing. I'm hoping it will be a server based multiplayer game but would probably start out as single player. Also any other suggestions as at the moment I have no real game design!! Thanks [edited by - bluecat on August 29, 2002 11:07:35 AM]

Not a bad start, but you need a lot more then that. For example, can the tanks attack each other? Do you control the tanks in a 3rd person mode or 1st person mode? Are there ways to build more tanks? Will there be anything else? Such as towns, etc?

The terrain engine definitely is a good start. I downloaded the demo and it looks very nice.

Basically you need something that will get the player hooked. Unless it''s a hardcore tank simulation, just moving around tanks and attacking other tanks will get boring. You need to add in ways for the player to get a sense of accomplishment.

- Andy Oxfeld