A little help getting started

Started by
4 comments, last by SparkyAtrain 21 years, 7 months ago
To better understand my cry for help, I provide a little background: As a senior in high school, I worked on programming a very primitive final fantasy tactics style strategy game. Our labs ran C/C++ Mac machines and almost everything I programmed was self-taught. The "game map" was made up of tiles (ex: there were grass tiles, beach tiles, water tiles, rock tiles, etc). The basic mechanics of the simple (and I do mean simple) animations were based on offscreen graphics worlds. I never had time to complete the game before I graduated and now I all I really have access to are Windows PCs. I would like to try to remake (and finish!) my game but I am stuck on how to get started transferring my solutions to certain game problems over to windows. I have no copies of my source for the old game, only a memory of how out certain pieces of our game-fragment ran. Most if not all was coded in C although I do have limited knowledge of C++. Any suggestions, tips, links, tutorials that might help me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Advertisement
Is your only problem porting (or evolving into) Windows? There are some really good books and online tutorials covering that. Look for words like "DirectX" and "porting games to windows".

And oh yeah, if you're not very familur at all with Windows, very little of your actual game techniques will need to change. With Windows, you just need to access graphics and sound hardware differently.

[edited by - Jiia on August 29, 2002 12:25:54 AM]
I guess porting is the main idea, I have a book on directx, and it has helped somewhat. I think the author is writing to programmers with more skill though because some of what he does goes beyond me. Does this mean I should hone my skills first and worry about the game later?