Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CoolMike

need help making making a dos text adventure

Although I am getting pretty good at DirectX, I decided I would try my hand at making the best Text Adventure ever. I am using pure DOS code, as I don''t want to mess with windows inits to use the GDI. But since I have little experience with legacy DOS, I need some help. I have been looking at my old C for Dummies books from yesteryear, but they use older DOS libraries and such, not the "new" stuff that Visual C++ 5.0 has. Here are my two questions: 1) How do you clear the screen in pure text mode? 2) When I use printf() to print text to the screen, how do I relocate the position of the cursor? (ie if the cursor is at the bottom of the screen, how would I relocate it to the upper-right to print some stats or something?)

To use both of the following functions, #include <conio.h>

To clear the screen, use clrscr();
To reposition the cursor, use gotoxy();

This stuff works in BC. Don't blame me if it doesn't in VC... Anyway, BC 5.5 is free for download, so get it.

Edited by - abe_bcs on 4/6/00 1:57:06 AM

In VC++ console program, to clear the screen you can use: system("cls")

To reposition the cursor is a little trickier. I created a little wrapper function. I don't think (or at least can't get to work) the standard C and C++ libraries for output like cout or printf get positioned correctly with these functions. You have to use like WriteConsole, I think. This function I have hear draws text at the X and Y location specified. Look up "console functions" or one of the functions themselves in the VC++ help for documenation on these functions.

void draw_text(char* text, int x, int y)
{

//this is the structure that holds the x and y position that the text will be drawn to
COORD pos;

//this holds the length of the text we will draw which is needed by WriteConsole()
DWORD length = strlen(text);