What exactly does this code mean?

Started by
32 comments, last by Shadow1234567890 21 years, 7 months ago
Here I have code for creating ''truly random numbers''. (int)((double)rand() / ((double)RAND_MAX + 1) * 10); The result from rand() is cast into a double, and then divided by the result from rand_max plus 1 which is also cast into a double, and then multiplied by the maximum number 10, and then that is finally cast into an integer? I asked someone about this code and they said it is for generating truly random numbers because they are low order bits or something. If I interpreted this code wrong tell me, if you have any opinions about random numbers tell me.
What do you mean ''Someday become a programmer?'' I'm a programmer right now!
Advertisement
It's not more random than anything else. What it does is to generate a "random" number between 0.0-1.0, and then multiplying it by the max value, so you get an integer value between 0 and 10 (or whatever max you want)

EDIT: Hmm, due to the division by RAND_MAX + 1, it can never reach 10 in this case, the maximum here would be 9.

[edited by - CWizard on August 31, 2002 10:11:54 AM]
That still generates pseudo-random numbers. However, because you don''t use modulo to cap the range you aren''t scewing the distribution (that''s what they were trying to get across by explaining about the ''low order bits'').
How does not using modulo help prevent the ''screwing of the distribution''

What do you by mean pseudo random?
What do you mean ''Someday become a programmer?'' I'm a programmer right now!
Psuedo Random Numbers ->

There is no such thing is a random number generated by a computer... Any equation used to generate a random number isn''t random.

The only things that are truly random, are natrual things, like the decay of uranium, sunspots, etc.

~~~~~Screaming Statue Software. | OpenGL FontLibWhy does Data talk to the computer? Surely he's Wi-Fi enabled... - phaseburn