Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is MFC dead now that we have C#?

This topic is 5580 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I don''t have much experience with visual C#.net. I only installed it a week ago. I liked it becasuse it is exactly what I thought it would be...a cross between visual basic and C++. That idea is in itself is appealing, but it also makes me upset because there seems to be no use for the MFC which I have also been trying to learn. C# seems to be by far the best way to quickly create powerful solutions for the windows platform. All comments are welcome, I hope this is a big discussion.

I have no experience and no interest in C#. I think in the long run, C# could become more popular than among first-time and average Windows programmers. Nonetheless, C/C++ with help from MFC and Win32 API will be around for a long time.

Microsoft will try to use C# for its upcoming Windows OSs, thus pushing C# popularity.

Personally, I am staying away from C#. Remember, C# is "managed" C++. C++ is currently the most dynamic, most extensible programming language. C++ inherits both low-level (C) and high-level (OOP) paradigms. We all know C is used for OS at the kernel level.

Kuphryn

quote:
Original post by kuphryn
Remember, C# is "managed" C++.

Uh, I don''t know enough about .Net to be 100% sure about this, but I think that''s wrong. Managed C++ != C#

Btw, does anyone use managed C++? Is it worth it? Do we have to actually port our code, or does managed C++ stay fairly close to unmanaged C++?

Cédric

C# is not manage C++, it is a seperate language, but it IS managed. It runs on a VM and thus it is slower than native code. And you are correct that there isnt any use for MFC in C#. In C#, you are ''supposed'' to use the .Net Framework to do everything that MFC used to handle.