Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Confusion with inheritance

This topic is 5587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just started learning Class Inheritance a few days ago and the book i''m reading hasn''t been too clear on it. First I''ll paste my test code which sets up my problem:

// Inheritance.cpp

#include <iostream.h>

class level1 {
public:
	int test;
	level1():test(1) {}
};

class level2a : public level1 {
public:
	int test;
	level2a():test(2) {}
};

class level2b : public level1 {
public:
	int test;
	level2b():test(2) {}
};

class level3 : public level2a, public level2b {
public:
	int test;
	level3():test(3) {}
};

int main() {
	level3 TestClass;

//cout << "test from level1 is set to " << TestClass.level1::test << "\n"; // Ambiguous

cout << "test from level2a::level1 is set to " << TestClass.level2a::level1::test << "\n";
	cout << "test from level2b::level1 is set to " << TestClass.level2b::level1::test << "\n";

return 0;
}

I know that if level2a and level2b defined their inherited class as virtual it would fix the compile problem, but what I can''t understand is why there is a compile problem at all? Isn''t ''::'' a sort of inherited-class accessor similar to ''.''? If not, then how do I access the level1.test from either levels specifically? NOTE: The code above is meant for DOS.

quote:
Original post by Shambles
I know that if level2a and level2b defined their inherited class as virtual it would fix the compile problem...

No, it wouldn''t. You should declare virtual destructors though.

quote:
...but what I can''t understand is why there is a compile problem at all? Isn''t ''::'' a sort of inherited-class accessor similar to ''.''?