Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How to implement text editor???

This topic is 5582 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Suppose I am a beginner.(I''ve learnt programming for 2-3 years, but this question seems like what a beginner will ask.) Two years ago, when I learnt a bit of C programming, I started to wonder how are simple text editors(eg. Notepad) really implemented. Hearing people say Notepad cannot process files larger than 64kb, I thought it uses a large static char array with size 64kb. Is it true? What I really concern is that how does it handle insertion and deletion. If the chars are stored in a large array, insertion and deletion at the end of the document is not difficult, but how about insertion and deletion at the middle. Are the chars mvoed around very often or does it have other more clever ways to handle this? I said to myself try to find the answer by myself 2 years ago. Today I do not seem to find the answer, I hope all experienced programmers can tell me the answer. Even if you do not consider yourself as experienced programmer, disscusions on how to solve the problem using the best way is welcomed!

Notepad is a bad example, if you are talking about console apps, which it seems that you do.

Notepad is built for a windows enviroment using components such as text boxes and etc.

quote:
Original post by biovenger
Notepad is a bad example, if you are talking about console apps, which it seems that you do.

Notepad is built for a windows enviroment using components such as text boxes and etc.