Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I have no knowledge at all!

This topic is 5578 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

OK, people keep telling me to get books, but they cost about £40! isn''t there a cheaper way to learn how to learn C++ and all of that. What software do i use? Please help me out, i want to build games!!!!

There are plenty of good tutorials to learn C++ online, just do a search on google for like "c++ tutorials" or something..The only software you need to create programs is a compiler. The compiler will convert your c++ code into executable machine code(010001001010101). You can find a very good(and free) compiler at www.bloodshed.net. Its called Dev-C++.

[edited by - branhield on September 8, 2002 1:58:21 PM]

Well, as i said, the only software you need to create a program is a compiler. At least for now..When u start making games you will probably need 3d modeling and image editing software..but for now, just get dev-c++(or any other compiler) and start learning c++ good luck

/daniel

The only software you''ll NEED is a compiler. Beyond that, there''s no way of saying. If you want to make a game, odds are at some point you''ll want a good paint program, anywhere from the ancient versions of Paint Shop Pro to Photoshop... If you want a 3d game, you''ll need a 3d modeller, and there are millions of those out there too. At some point you''ll most likely need some sort of sound editor, but I know nothing about those. During development you''ll also most likely want a map editor, and a few other utilities like that, but odds are you''ll end up having to make your own there.