• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mathematix

I wanna write some games...

This topic is 5702 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I am a programming newbie just passed the "hello world" stage in my C++ class. I would like to write four good 3D games in three months, the first being one like Quake 3 then Warcraft 3 then Grand Theft Auto 3. I have heard of a programming language called Open PL? is this easy to learn? I understand that it is used for a number of games. Also I''ve heard of something like ''Direct sex'' that you can make sounds with. Any help would be very much appreciated. Peace out, Mathematix.

Advertisement
Guest Anonymous Poster
Is this a joke?

Either you are being extremely funny or you really don''t know what you are talking about....

Well. "Open PL" is called OpenGL it''s a 3D API.
And "Direct sex" (LMAO!!) is called DirectX.

DirectX is made up of two parts DirectDraw and Direct3D.
DirectDraw is for 2D app/games and Direct3D is for 3D app/games.

My honest opinion and I think most people would agree.
You should start coding a little more.
Far past the "hello world" stage.
Do you know how to use pointers, functions, structs and classes?
Well you should at least understand these things before thinking about making 3D games.

But while you are learning these things. And I said it!! learn them!! (to those who roasted me earlier... you know who you are)

You can go to Teej''s interactive tutorial and learn to program Tetris. It is step by step and shows most if not all the things you need to know about basic game programming. Then your next game should be Pong. You''ll then get a good idea of how to implement simple AI and physics, which you''ll need to expand upon sooner than you think.