• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MrPoopypants

Code Optimizing

This topic is 5755 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I started a C++ class at my High-School and I have been really interested in it. Since one day I hopefully want to be a programmer, I know my best ticket in is writing the best coding possible. Starting from the very basics(This is my first project below) I want to write the fastest, neatest code possible. Any help would be appreciated, thanks a lot!

#include <iostream>

using std::cout;

int main()
{

/*	Integers								*/

int iInt1 = 125, iInt2 = 8, iInt3, iInt4, iInt5, iInt6, iInt7;
float fFloat1;
char cChar1;

fFloat1 = 129.546f;

cChar1 = ''R'';

iInt3 = iInt1 - iInt2;
	iInt4 = iInt1 + iInt2;
	iInt5 = iInt1 / iInt2;
	iInt6 = iInt1 % iInt2;
	iInt7 = iInt1 * iInt2;

std::cout << "\nNumber 1 is:    " << iInt1; 
	std::cout << "\nNumber 2 is:    " << iInt2;
	std::cout << "\nNumber 3 is:    " << iInt3;
	std::cout << "\nNumber 4 is:    " << iInt4;
	std::cout << "\nNumber 5 is:    " << iInt5;
	std::cout << "\nNumber 6 is:    " << iInt6;
	std::cout << "\nNumber 7 is:    " << iInt7;

std::cout << "\n\nFloat is   :    " << fFloat1;

std::cout << "\n\nChar is    :    " << cChar1;

//This will put "Hit any key to continue" on its own line

std::cout << "\n\n";

//Ring bell at end of program

std::cout << "\a";

return 0;
}

I know this program will run extremely fast anyway, but would it be possible, to say...write all the std::couts on one line to make it run just a tiny bit faster

Advertisement
even if all the output lines was on the same line you still have the same number of function calls to make, and if put it on one line is fast the compiler will take care of it.