linked list VS std::vector

Started by
9 comments, last by AngelForce 21 years, 6 months ago
I recently wondered, if there''s an advantage of a linked list over std::vector. Quite some time ago I implemented a linked list but some weeks ago I started learning STL (I skipped that earlier ) and std::vector seems to be easier and - of course - a lot faster to implement(in development time). So I wonder, is there still a reason to use good ol'' linked lists?? Thanks for your replies! AngelForce -- If you find any mistakes, you''re allowed to keep ''em! ''When I look back I am lost.''
AngelForce--"When I look back I am lost." - Daenerys Targaryen
Advertisement
You can always find a good reason to use almost any data structure.

Usually, I just use linked lists when I have a container that I know at some point I''m going to need to traverse, but I don''t need random access to it. Usually, the objects that it contains each maintain a member that is an iterator to it''s own position on the list, and that particular object takes care of removing itself from the list. Since deleting an element of a linked list doesn''t invalidate other iterators to that list, it''s extremely useful (can''t quite do that with a vector).
daerid@gmail.com
With a linked list, you can have a constant random insertion/remove operations complexity (provided you already have an iterator at the "right place", obviously).

With a vector, you have a O(n) complexity for random insertion/remove operations.

So, if you need to do a lot of random insertion/remove, linked list can be faster than vectors.
I believe that vectors are implemented using lists...correct me if I'm wrong. and you can delete elements from a vector very easily without invalidating any other elements. Just use
std::vector erase()

[edited by - xg0blin on October 18, 2002 2:46:16 PM]
std::list man just as easy to implement as std::vector
edit: Crazy_Vasey was faster

[edited by - civguy on October 18, 2002 3:19:42 PM]