• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hitman

callbacks in C++

This topic is 6943 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am fairly new to C++, and was wondering what people thought was the best way to implement callbacks. One way would be to implement the observer pattern, but then I would probably have to use multiple inheritance in some cases (ie objects that have a base class but also want to be called back). Are there any problems with using multiple inheritance. Thanks for any help, Bret

Advertisement
You don''t need multiple inheritance to use the observer pattern. You can define one class (perhaps abstract) for the "subject" (which will call the observer) and one interface class (surely abstract) for the observer. To use an object you already got just inherit the observer and create an observer which will now you object and calls it. If you are into patterns this is something like an "adapter".

Another way to implement callbacks could be to use the so called "command" pattern (One interface class for a command is inherited to get a class which nows your to be called objects. You command is registered by the "subject". If the subject calls the command (command->execute() it calls the methods on your object). However all these pattern are looking really similar when used in the way you described it.

If you would describe you problem in more detail you will perhaps get better and more specific answers.

Bjoern

quote:
Original post by bjoern