Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Aerolithe

New to forums

Hi, I just registered and I am a total newbie to game development. My first question is do you think that books are worth buying, or is it easier to just look up the information on the internet. I have seen a lot of tutorials on the internet for various things like programming and I've seen some pretty bad book reviews and I just wanted to know what you guys think since your the ones who are either doing this stuff or have done this in the past. ~Aerolithe (New, improved signature comming soon. Release date in late 2003, but expect delays and cut out features) [edited by - Aerolithe on November 5, 2002 9:13:33 PM]

Thanks, I was just reading some of the tutorials for beginners and it also recomends books. One of the biggest advantages is I don''t have to sit on the computer to learn, although I can''t get very far into it without using the computer anyway. All I need now is a steady source of income and I''m all set to get started, the only thing missing is an employer, but thats getting off topic. Do you know if I can generally get educational versions of software on my own without anything school related, my schools most advanced course is computer software 1, where I am currently learning PowerPoint (soooo hard ) and have managed to stay above a 100% the whole year so far.

quote:
Original post by nickmerritt
Books are worth the gold you pay for them. Don''t try to learn direct X for the Docs that come with it. But hey, thats how I got programming.
Nick

Hey now, that''s how I learned

But seriously, you''ll save yourself one hell of a headache if you get the books. I never got any books on programming, just dove head-first into the vast (and I do mean vast) unknown. Well, a little over a year and I''ve started to learn asm to optimize my code. Though I must admit it wasn''t exactly the easiest year of my life, what with college shoving me in the back and all.