Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BrianH

questions about vertex shaders

Hello, I am just starting to learn vertex shaders and I have some general questions.. 1. Since vertex shaders take over the transformation and lighting pipeline, I have to do all the lighting calculations myself. This means, I will no longer use the Direct3D SetLight or SetMaterial functions. Rather, I will load the lighting and material data into the constant registers. Is this correct? 2. Is there anyway to mix programmable vertex shaders and the fixed function pipeline (e.g. use it for transformation but leave lighting alone) or is it pretty much all or nothing? 3. If I cannot still use D3D lighting with vertex shaders, how do I go about supporting ambient, point, and directional lights? I guess I would just have to define a set of constants that I consistenly use for lighting data so that each shader I would write (that uses lighting) would know where this data is. 4. to disable lighting without having to write another version of each shader, I would just have to supply 0''s for the constant lighting data? As you can see, I have many questions regarding lighting with vertex shaders... so any help in this area would be greatly appreciated. I hope these questions made sense... Thanks, BH

Okay, I''m relatively new to vertex shaders myself, so I might be wrong about some things...

1. Yep, you don''t need to worry about SetLight or SetMaterial. You can make your own function for it if it would make it easier to setup the constant registers.

2. From what I understand, it is all or nothing, you can''t mix and match.

3. Yep, just define a set of constants that will always hold certain data for the lights. There are a number of sources about how to calculate the lighting as well, just search the web. There are several tutorials here that are good too.