Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Multiple vertex shaders?

This topic is 5507 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, all! I am making a FPS, and had planned on making it Cel-shaded. But I was wondering, what do you think of having multiple vertex shaders programmed in, possibly in a list, but having an option for the user to select from these vertex shaders. Like membrane shading, hatch shading(?), and cel-shading, among others. Would this work? Ex: SetVertexShader(VertexShaderList[CurrentVertexShader]); VertexShaderList[0] = CelShader; VertexShaderList[1] = HatchShader; ... ??? Any comments would be appreciated!! It is coming...8 years in the making and It is finally coming... -Beavt8r

I am not trying to compete with other games and/or companies. I am an indie game programmer just wanting to put his ideas into a game. Besides, it is very hard not to work on something that isn't in development somewhere else, or already out. Like I said, I'm an indie that loves to make games and I just want to have my game idea put into an actual game. It's not like I could compete with anybody anyways...I'm doing everything myself...besides, non-conventional shading/look goes with the game story. So come on, take it easy on me .

Anyway, would function pointers help with this? Like have a list of the SVS functions along with parameters, and have it call the current SVS function?

It is coming...8 years in the making and It is finally coming...

-Beavt8r

[edited by - beavt8r on November 11, 2002 12:47:01 PM]

Beavt8r:
No need for a shotgun to kill a fly.
Just have one vertex shader for each effect and select the one you need. That's so simple you shouldn't even need to ask or think about it.