Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need help -- Textures in a Seperate File

This topic is 5508 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, sorry to bother you, but I was wondering if I could get some help. --By the way, I love NeHe''s Site-- I am a student at tvi.edu and learning base information towards OpenGL programing in C++. The teacher taught us to seperate our Code into 3+ files. Yet NeHe''s tutorials are based in 1 file. I''ve worked on taking his Tutorial #1 and #10 and split them into seperate files. http://w3.tvi.edu/~scinutz/Field.zip What I''m trying to do is add Textures into this program and seperate the BMP''s Loading into anopther File. then call for that texture in a glNewList. Could someone help me on textures. I thought I had removed the coding correctly on a different file, but kept getting an error towards AUX and Linking Errors on the .exe file. If you could help in anyway, even if its from Tutorial #6 and placed into another file, I would be greatful. Learning the basics is always the problem. Only an fool would program and animate. I''''m just a Simple Fool who''''s learning all he can. -- SciNutz

I think this is the 10th time I am posting this code:
It is limited only to uncompressed, 8 bpp BMP files, but it works quite well.
If you plan to use it in some project, please give me some credit

//load a bmp texture, with the specified global alpha
GLuint load_bmp8_fixed_alpha(char * FileName, Uint8 a)
{
int i,x,y,x_padding,x_size,y_size,colors_no,r,g,b,current_pallete_entry;
Uint8 * file_mem;
Uint8 * file_mem_start;
Uint8 * texture_mem;
Uint8 * read_buffer;
Uint8 * color_pallete;
FILE *f = NULL;
int file_lenght;
GLuint texture;

f = fopen (FileName, "rb");
if (!f) return;
file_mem = (Uint8 *) calloc ( 20000, sizeof(Uint8));
file_mem_start=file_mem;