Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Where do I start when creating my first 3D engine?

This topic is 5501 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi All, I am a recent graduate student from computer science. I have a lot of experience programming in C++ and using the MFC and the Win32 API. I also have been studying DirectX a lot in my spare time. I have become fairly familiar with DirectX mainly D3D and am able to do a lot of small little effects with the API. I want to now start creating my own 3d engine but I am unsure on where to begin. My question is where does one start from in creating his or her own 3d engine? The type of engine I was hoping to attempt to create is a FPS engine and make it easy enough to keep adding features. Any suggestions or comments on how to approach this would be nice. Thanks, Omnipotent

start thinking about making a game..but just thinking about making it. you will think "ok, i need this..i need that."
those "this" and "that" will be the first thing to do in writing your engine.

My compiler generates one error message: "does not compile."

"Learn OpenGL first! Then think about anything else. "

Stupidity included. He already knows Direct3d - what would OpenGL give him?

OK, you are in for a bad surprise: you dont have any architectural experience. You may THINK that you ahve a lot of programming experience - just from our HR guidelines I can tell you that you basically qualify for a one year trainee position now, in order to learn PROPER programming - students graduating normally have NO larger project experience at all :-) Not to take your qualifications down, just to put them into the right context.