Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

QBasic Multiplayer?

This topic is 5499 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm working on game engine programming in pure* QB 7.1 Does anybody have information that could help me include multiplayer capacity without dialing directly from modem to modem over a phone line? I'm not a technical person right now, but I've got 12 years experience creating software and graphics with computers, programming mainly in QB and older BASICs. I'm willing to become technical if that's what it takes to implement multiplayer capabilities. My present game creation website is 648.ontheweb.com/games My personal website is drew.ontheweb.com Thanks for any info! DREW * Presently it's all pure QB, but since my goal is to create games rather than to program in pure QB, I'm happy to implement non-QB items to allow, in this case, for multiplayer. [edited by - Drew648 on November 20, 2002 10:38:05 AM]

I was once a QBasic programmer myself and always wondered about that issue. However, as far as I know, only direct connections (modem or maybe LAN) can be achieved in QB. There was once someone claiming that he had accomplished TCP/IP connection through a Windows slave module, but I don´t think you would like to use it since you said "pure QB". If you would like to find this, I recommend that you ask on a QB forum (such as www.hulla-balloo.com/vplanet)
Cheers

There are 10 kinds of people: those who know binary and those who don''t

quote:
Original post by Drew648
Sockets...Is that what I need to look into? Can QB interact with "sockets"?

Thanks again for info you can provide,
DREW

648.ontheweb.com/games
drew.ontheweb.com

I really have no answer to this.. but i can''t help but wonder.. why?

lol

But hey ! I''d be interested to hear if you succeed. QB is a fun language