• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

randomDecay

Projections in D3D8

This topic is 5653 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am just learning Direct3D 8 right now and having some trouble.. I know that there is model space (coordinate system of your models and objects), world space (coordinate system of the entire world where other objects are in the scene), and then there''s the projection (which maps your 3D world coordinates to 2D viewport space). OK, what I have is two different objects (2 squares of a checkerboard, red and black, in model space). I defined their vertices as (0,0,0), (1,0,0), (0,1,0) and (1,1,0). These are the coords in their model space. Now I set up the world coords in a double for loop such as...

for ( int y = 0; y < NUM_ROWS; ++y )
	{
		for ( int x = 0; x < NUM_ROWS; ++x )
		{
			int oddeven = ( x + y ) & 1;

// Set up world matrix

D3DXMatrixTranslation( &m_matWorld, ( float ) x, ( float ) y, 0.0 );

// Set up world transformation

m_d3dDevice->SetTransform( D3DTS_WORLD, &m_matWorld );

// Draw the square

m_d3dDevice->DrawPrimitiveUP( D3DPT_TRIANGLESTRIP, 2, m_vertices[ oddeven ], sizeof( CustomVertex ) );
		}
	}

So world space goes from 0 ... to NUM_ROWS in x, y and z (I guess??) I set up a projection matrix (from pazarra''s book btw) as ...

// Set up projection matrix

D3DXMatrixIdentity( &m_matProj );
	m_matProj._11 = .1875;	
	m_matProj._41 =	-0.75;	
	m_matProj._22 =	-0.25;	
	m_matProj._42 =	1.0;	

// Set the projection matrix

m_d3dDevice->SetTransform( D3DTS_PROJECTION, &m_matProj );

Can someone explain to me why Pazerra set up his projection matrix like that? I''m totally confused about the projection matrix.......thanks!

Advertisement