• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Akujin13

[java] Graphic programming in Java

This topic is 5677 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''m attempting to create a fire applet, without much luck, and i can''t seem to find any good tutorials online and the local bookstores don''t carry anything that goes over the topic. I have some background in DirectX8 programming, so i understand the basics of the technique, but i don''t understand how to apply it to a Java applet. Can anyone help me out with this, or at least point me to a good tutorial? -Akujin

Advertisement
I''m going to assume you need something a little more advanced than just "how do I make an applet?", so here''s a link to the Java 2D Programmers guide, which documents just about everything about programming graphics in Java. If you can''t find it in here, I don''t know where you''ll find it. =)

http://java.sun.com/products/jdk/1.2/docs/guide/2d/spec/j2d-bookTOC.doc.html

This isn''''t life in the fast lane, it''''s life in the oncoming traffic.
-- Terry Pratchett

Indeed, I''m no amature when it comes to Java, so I don''t need to know how to make applets, i just need to know how to apply the special effects techniques for things like 2D water and fire.

I''ll take a look through that guide and see if it gives me what I need. Thanks.

-Akujin

You said in your e-mail you were looking for direct pixel manipulation. Well, there is a class called WritableRaster. It represents a rectangular set of pixels that can be written to. As stated in the Java 2D tutorials I''ve seen, you can create an empty BufferedImage, and it contains a Raster and a ColorModel... from the Raster, there''s a method to create a WritableRaster.......

Perhaps this is what you''ve been looking for?