• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Roger

Borland or Visual????

This topic is 6924 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello duders, Im an aspiring game programmer, and I know a decent amount of C++ at this point, but what, in ur opinion, is better for game development...Borland C++ or Visual C++?? HMM????

Advertisement
I think that a Borland C++ compiler is free to download now, but I dont'' know what it''s capabilities are. Just do a search somewhere, I don''t know the exact address of the website. Cheers!

bogdanontanu...if "Vizual is a joke to ''real games,''" then why did Valve use it to write Half-Life?

P h a n t a s m
"Through dreams I control mankind."
--Legend

I''d say go with the Microsoft compiler.... its code isn''t quite as lean, but it works flawlessly with every piece of DirectX and Windows API related code out there. It also has MFC, which is surprisingly powerful once you get over the initial "yeuch" reaction that seems to follow looking at it.

Also, the Visual C++ IDE is hard to beat.

I have both compilers, and I would choose Visual over Borland any day for games. Visual C++ organizes projects better. All your files are just a click away...

Yes, Visual C++ would be the way to go.. but make sure you download the Service Pack to update your copy to the latest version!
http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/sp/vs6sp3/default.asp

Borland C++ isn''t nearly as supported as VC.. although it is true that Borland 5 is available for free now..
You can get VC Standard edition for about $120.

> Assembler is the BEST...but if u dont know it..
> then use Borland C++ ...
> Vizual is a joke to "real games"