• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ParadigmShift

natural language with NPCs

This topic is 5651 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi folks! Please do not answer this post to tell me this can't be done. That's exactly what they said about faster-than-light travel I am a student of Cognitive Science, with an emphasis on linguistics. I'm looking at ways to incorporate natural language processing in games. I can't see any reason you can't type in English and communicate with the NPC's. The best I've found (Google) are some experiments from the 80's that yield more or less the following:
You are walking through the forest, vision in any direction
is blocked by the trees, except for the bright blue sky which
is clearly visible above.
>continue walking
I don't know the word 'continue'.
I don't know the word 'walking'.
I don't quite understand you.

Assuming I can do better, how would this factor intelligently into the design of my game? I would like to write some kind of (offline) game where you need to convince the characters to help you, and instruct them about your mission. The challenge, then, is not to complete the mission really but to talk the locals (I'm giving away some of my intended storyline here, but that's ok) into helping you. Ideas and comments, general or specific, are wanted. Ideas such as: - They are too afraid, busy, or religiously uninclined to help you - They don't speak your language - They have a very simplistic grammar Thanks for reading. Tom [edited by - ParadigmShift on December 4, 2002 12:04:35 AM]

Advertisement
I''ts not impossible dude. We might not be able to do it yet but sure as hell it''s not impossible. The way I see it is that there''s two ways to do what you want to do