• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I NEED HELP!

This topic is 5641 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Can someone please help me, for my carrer i want to have something big to do with console gaming, preferably MAKE them for playstation.The only problem is that I have no clue how. If someone could help me I would be very grateful. Thanks

Advertisement
What doe you already know?

Can you write a game on the PC? Do you know C++? OpenGL or DirectX? I think you should learn that first before you start on console programming

If you want to write for the playstation, do some research on it. I'm not a console programmer but I thougt that there was an development kit for the playstation which was free (and for linux, but I'm not certain about that).

[edited by - Scheermesje on December 5, 2002 9:36:18 AM]

I dont know anything about making games for anything. I was just trying to get some info. on how to start. Im only 15 right now but it is good to get an early start.Thanks for the help.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Did you try the "For Beginners" link above?

Learn some VERY BASIC programming using any of these:

C++, C, Java, Python, Ruby, C#, Delphi

Learn some advanced math such as:

Maticies and Linear Algebra

For games decide to learn 2-5 of the following areas:

Core Libraries, Networking, Graphics, Sound, AI, Resource Management, User Interfaces.

some sample / possbile things to tackle / investigate:

core technolgy - Random Numbers, Memento Pattern, Serialization, XML
networking - Sockets, UDP
graphics - OpenGL
sound - OpenAL, DirectMusic
ai - State Machines, Neural Networks, Genetic Programming
user interfaces - VCL, QT, GTK+

just a few suggestions for looking up on google