• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sab3156

Game Engine Development

This topic is 5648 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

OK, I am a C++ programmer learning OpenGL and a bit of DirectX. I plan to start developing a 3D engine this summer with 4 of my friends. I''ve never ever coded an engine before, not even a simplistic one. My question: Does anybody know of any good online resources and/or books to get so that I would learn how top o'' the line 3D engines such as QuakeIII and Unreal are created, and architecture, programming, etc., etc. Put it this way: I want to learn as MUCH as I can about 3D Engine Development so that I would be able to start development of a pretty advanced third person RPG engine over the summer. I want it all...lol. Thanks a LOT in advance! -Sab

Advertisement
well, unfortunately you have a lot to learn before you can just jump into a top of the line 3d engine. there's a reason so many game company's choose to buy an engine rather than spend a year developing one. not to discourage you, but you're not going to write an engine in a timely fashion if you set your goal that high. then, once your engine is done you'd have to work on your game content. I'm sure you've thought this out to some extent. there are plenty of tutorials, but none on, "How do I make Quake III". I would start from sqaure one, http://www.gamedev.net/hosted/3dgraphics/

good luck,
Joe

My Homepage
How many Microsoft employees does it take to screw in a light bulb?
None, they just declare drakness as a new standard.

[edited by - Julio on December 5, 2002 5:56:18 PM]