• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

scrawny

template trouble

This topic is 6930 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've never used templates before, so I decided to test them out with this VERY simple console program. Here's the code: Container.h: #ifndef _CONTAINER_H_ #define _CONTAINER_H_ template <class T> class Container { public: Container(T *); ~Container(); T & GetObject() const; protected: T * pObject; }; #endif //_CONTAINER_H_ Container.cpp: #include "Container.h" template <class T> Container<T>::Container(T * pInitObject): pObject(pInitObject) { } template <class T> Container<T>::~Container() { delete pObject; } template <class T> T & Container<T>::GetObject() const { return *pObject; } TemplateTest.cpp: #include "container.h" #include <iostream.h> int main() { int i = 10; Container<int> container(&i); cout << container.GetObject(); return 0; } That's it. Just a simple little test. My linker tells me all the member functions for Container<int> are unresolved externals. I thought the compiler was supposed to define that for you. That's the point of a template, right? I double and triple checked that Container.cpp was included in my project and that the member fuctions' declarations matched the definitions. I know it must be something obvious. Edited by - scrawny on 4/29/00 1:14:35 AM

Advertisement
Although it''s supposed to work the way you have done it, most (all?) of the current major compiler versions don''t do it this way. The implementations must be in the same file as the declarations, or at least must be able to be accessed. If you want to put them in a cpp file, then you''re gonna have to

#include "container.cpp"