Locked memory?

Started by
10 comments, last by klems 21 years, 3 months ago
Can anyone here with good knowledge of how Windows handles memory give me a clue on how I get which areas of another process''s RAM is available to alter with ReadProcessMemory and WriteProcessMemory under Windows XP? I''m writing a simple app which searches another program''s RAM, and lets you change interesting memory locations (like the cheat function of ZSNES). I''ve only managed to read the first 500 or so kilobytes after 0x00400000, then there''s some locked memory, and then theres another readable chunk, and then... [repeat until insanity sets in]

Three shall be the number thou shall count, and the number of the counting shall be three...

Advertisement
Im no expert on windows, but it would seem to me you would need a process running on a lower rung than the application you want to read. Its been a while since I have dealt with rungs and memory protection crap though. Can you run code in rung 0 on windows?
--------------------------I present for tribute this haiku:Inane Ravings OfThe Haunting JubilationA Mad Engineer©Copyright 2005 ExtrariusAll Rights Reserved
Semi-random guess:
If you can get the path to the executable, you can get the size of it. If you can get the size of the executable, you can determine how much data is allocated after 0x00400000. Maybe. You can get the address of the exe (if you don't already have it) from the ToolHelp functions ISTR [CreateToolhelp32Snapshot(), Process32First(), ...])

Edit: Actually, i'm talking crap :s That won't tell you anything abount memory allocated with new(), malloc(), etc...

[edited by - Evil Bill on December 23, 2002 8:17:25 PM]
Member of the Unban Mindwipe Society (UMWS)
IsBadReadPtr(), IsBadWritePtr(), IsBadCodePtr(), IsBadStringPtr() let you find out what you want to know.