• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ashwin_s

Speed Problem

This topic is 6930 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am quite new to OpenGL (working on it for about 3-4 months) and I am currently developing an application which creates a 3D model of a wing of our office and lets a person walk through it. The Application: --------------- As of now I have completed building the model (ours is - of course - a software company). The model contains the following objects - Walls, Desks, Ceiling, Floor - created by specifying vertices. I used glBegin(GL_POLYGON)... glEnd() to build the display lists. Some of them, for example, the floor and the ceiling are also Texture Mapped. Chairs, Computers, Phones, Pots - created by loading objects from .3ds files downloaded from the net. Since I didn''t have a good .3ds loader, I used 3D Exploration from XDSoft to export them to .obj models and used Nate''s Wavefront Object File loading code to load them. The class converts all objects into display lists. Each of these files contain object with around 1000 vertices on an average. Materials and Lighting - since I wanted to concentrate on getting the geometry of the model right first I''ve added just 1 White light and all objects are made created are made of the same material. Keyboard Navigation - user can move around the model using the arrow keys to move Forward (Up Arrow Key), Backward (Down Arrow Key), Turn Left (Left Arrow Key), Turn Right (right arrow key), Move Up (''A'' Key) and Move Down (''Z'' Key). The Development Environment: --------------------------- I am developing this software on a Pentium II 350 Mhz machine with 128 MB RAM. It doesn''t have a 3D card, has a normal video card with 4MB VRAM. I am using SGI''s OpenGL Implementation as I heard that it is better for non-acceler