• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Pinheadone

HAL device slower than RGB device ???!!

This topic is 6929 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've got a really bad problem. I'm new at the Direct3D Immidiate Mode ( DX7 ) and tried to render a cube. When i moved the cube with pressing the key it was so slow that the scene reacts 2 seconds later. Later i realized that with using IID_IDirect3DRGBDevice as GUID rather than IID_IDirect3DHALDevice it moved quite smoothly ( better than with the HAL ). This is unexplainable to me cause i own a RivaTNT card which supports the HAL... But if i choose the HAL in the Direct3D Immidiate Mode examples ( this ones using the framework ) the HAL is driving normal speed...???? Can some one help me ???? PLEASE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! mail to me : simmich@htw-saarland.de THANKS Edited by - Pinheadone on 5/5/00 12:16:31 PM

Advertisement
Funny enough I had the same problem in DirectDraw, with my other computer.
In hardware it can only run about 20 fps no-matter the game, but in software it runs 30-35 fps or higher!!

And the card did support hardware-blitting, and had plenty of memory (8 MB).
I fixed this by reinstalling Windows.
(I think this somehow was caused by a bad IExplore version, which made my pc go crazy!)