Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

silvermace

review my crap code

hi, im a newbie programmer, self taught and i would like some oppinions on my simple scripting language, and vm. i know that its messy, but do you think it is salvegable ? please review it and tell me what you guys think http://www.eminence.co.nz/libcl.zip thanx -silvermace [edit: st0pid me, forgot the link ] [edited by - silvermace on January 20, 2003 2:03:23 AM]

There's too much of it, but I'll take a peek. Be prepared for lame comments that mostly concern about how the code looks

*takes the peek*

I don't know about the scripting language, the examples don't say much. So I'll comment the code in vm instead..

What's the use of CStack? std::stack is ok too. Your stack is defined in two places too. And the layout breaks if tab isn't set to 4 (now that's an important thing!). You have too little of documentation and comments (almost none). You should throw classes instead of string literals, so they can be caught and acted upon appropriately. Sometimes you have _ prefix for variable names, sometimes not.. I couldn't see any pattern, there was code like
string _Lbl = Lbl;
.. very confusing. Sometimes you use hungarian notation, sometimes not. Try to be more consistent. You should break the code into smaller functions, now I spotted some pretty huge ones that are hard to follow, even though they had parts that could've easily been broken in to several other functions

I don't know if this helps at all, but I don't have time for a closer look of what the code is actually supposed to be doing..

[edited by - civguy on January 20, 2003 7:17:33 PM]

Not bad for a crap code. Most of the coding ''deficiency'' mentioned by civguy, so I need not repeat it.

Just want to know, whats the difference:
- _thisVariable
- _ThisVariable
- __thisVariable
- ThisVariable
- thisVariable
- m_thisVariable
- m_lpThisVariable
- this_variable
- This_variable