Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dark_Guy

Oh boy... TEAMWORK... How it is, and how it should it be ?

Cheers everyone ! I am fairly new at teamwork. I am a programmer, but somehow i ended up with a programming team on my back, and they keep asking me what thay should be doing to complete our project before our time limit is up ! The problem is, i keep telling them stuff like: "Sorry, guys. I don''t really know myself.. I figure you guys shoud be doing something usefull " In other words i''m stuck And i need professional help, from anyone who have any good tips on "How to be a good Lead Designer, Programmer, whatever... Our project is a multimedia presentation about our city. We have 100 MegaBytes to do this, so we choose to create a 3D engine in Visual Basic with DirectX. We are a team of 8 people. - 3 ppl Programmers (myself included) - 2 ppl Writers and project researchers - 1 ppl Musician & Sound artist and finally - 2 ppl 3D artists to create the graphics. And i am stuck with both programming and supervising everyone else. Please help out if you can ! Every post might help ! Byez, Robert

"Find the path, follow the Master... Follow the master, understand the master... Overcome the master !"

Keep a clear eye on what needs to be done (meaning getting the project finished and staying true to the original vision) and establish and be aware of everyone's capability and responsibility on the project.

Improve where you can.
Don't let the wrong people take control.

It can be hard, I imagine, with team members that you are supervising that might know more about certain things than you, but if your position is the team lead, then as a team they should respect that.

Try to talk at length about decision-making regarding optimization strategies, data structuring, etc. so that members aren't trying things out, realizing it's the wrong way to go about it and having to redo it, etc.

Prioritize!