Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Chia_Pet

What C++ should i use to learn?

ok, im a complete newbie at programming. i want to learn C++, i currently have access to Visual C++.NET and Visual C++ 6.0 i just aquired the MS VIsual C++ .NET Deluxe learning Edition from Barnes and Noble. previously i had bought the 6.0 from the net and all i got were the CD''s (OEM) when i installed the 6.0 it kept hyaving problems for some reason installing on XP. so i went to one of my usual internet hangouts and asked what the differences were between 6.0 and .NET. after varied responces a few pointed out that i should learn C++ on UNIX as it would be more solid code( or something like that) so, my question is, if i want to learn C++ what Version (borland, MS visual,whatever) would garner me the best understanding of the language, and should i learn to program on UNIX or simply my Windows (XP in this case)?

Step 1:
Get Kazaa Lite (www.fasttrackhelp.com)

Step 2:
Never EVER buy anything made by Microsoft ever again (they won''t mind losing a few hundred bucks)

Step 3:
Get on Kazaa Lite and download any of about 4 books on C++. Also, there should have been a tutorial with MSVC++ 6.

Step 4:
Before you go out and make Mr. Gates any richer, look on Kazaa for a rip (this is assuming you do not get the software for a company). Do not worry about all the damn disclaimers and the flamers agains this. It is fine! Bill Gates already has too much money...

Step 4:
Check out gametutorials.com for the really basic stuff.

zackriggle
Why wouldn´t you want to buy MS products? If you don´t like Bill Gates then don´t use his companies products at all. Better you learn using other IDE´s and how they work because you can´t use rips if you want to make commercial games. MS do alot of good products and should be payed for them. If you disagree then use a free compileer instead, what´s the use of ripping of MS?

Bad Monkey Productions

quote: