• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

duhroach

Shadow mapping theory.

This topic is 5688 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all. I've been studying shadow mapping for about 6 months now, and I have to say, I've gotten no where. I've been able to write a small demo . But have yet to really "grasp" the process. After seeing Yann's screenshot he posted a few threads ago, I'm wondering what the hell I'm missing in the process. It seems that shadow mapping is alot more difficult unless you've tweaked your engine to do some nifty things. Self shadowing is something i can't figure out, and haven't found information on how to do. Another thing I can't understand, is the huge debate between Projected shadow volumes (ala doom3) and shadow mapping. Carmack boasts that ShadowMapping is good under controled input, but not good for general world rendering. Where as Yann has stated that Shadowmapping is more powerful in the long run, and allows more general ability. I guess my biggest beef with the problem is that I can't find things which i Understand about the process itself. I've got about 20 .pdf files explaining, and dozens of demos going over the process, but each one goes over tons of different processes, in tons of different ways. It's quite difficult to figure out which path is the correct to follow. I guess what i'm asking for, is a clairification on the process. does anyone have bare bones, standard, information on shadow mapping? one that doesn't come with a 10 page mathmatics manual? I'm trying to figure out how to make this process quite powerful, but I keep hitting dead ends. can anyone help? ~Main == Colt "MainRoach" McAnlis Programmer www.badheat.com/sinewave [edited by - duhroach on January 21, 2003 1:57:28 PM]

Advertisement