• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

NumbChucks

Winsock for e-mail, what is the next step

This topic is 5810 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am studying winsock, and I need to know based on the code below, what is the next step. I am writing an application for e-mail. If you just tell me a function or create this object, I will look it up in the help files. As you will see below, I am a comment freak. Thanks for your help. [ /* Every computer has a local host name */ /* This example retrieves the host name of the PC in runs in */ /* Make sure to include the following library in your project: ws2_32.lib */ #include <iostream> /* input output stream */ #include <conio.h> /* used for getch */ #include <winsock.h> /* the winsock header file */ /* Make sure to go to projects, settings, link tab, and type in the following library, which needs to be included with your project ws2_32.lib */ #define n ''\n'' /* my defines */ #define t ''\t'' /* my defines */ using namespace std; /* global namespace */ int main() /* beginning of main */ { WSADATA w; /* Creating a WSADATA structure */ WSAStartup(0x0202,&w); /* Calling the WSA initialization function, this function will fill in the WSADATA structure */ char ac[80]; /* Any large number you want. I hit it with 80 because, I had to much coffee this morning */ /* gethostname fills and array with the host name of your PC */ /* It returns a SOCKET_ERROR type */ if(gethostname(ac, sizeof(ac)) == SOCKET_ERROR) { cerr << "Error " << WSAGetLastError()/* display numeric error */ << " when getting local host name." << endl; return 1; } cout << "Host name is " << ac << "." << endl; /* Displays the host name */ WSACleanup(); /* Whenever you are done with your WinSock session, make sure to call this function */ getch(); /* get keyboard stro