• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Roger Hill

GUI questions about turn based strategy game

This topic is 6920 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am an experienced programmer starting to work with Windows/DirectX for the first time. I want to try my hand at a turn based strategy game, as this seems to be a simple first step into game development. My question is: what is the best way of creating a GUI for a TBS game? I could treat the whole screen as one big window, and place the ''data windows'', (containing your money, score, resource points, whatever) as sprites, taking advantage of the Z-order feature in DX7. Of course, then whenever you click somewhere, you would have to determine where on the screen the mouse was. Alternately, I could create child windows for each sub-screen. Then they have to be arranged, and updated individually, but it''s simple to have a separate message loop for each child window. Is there some simple method I''m missing? Or, perhaps some slick trick that makes things easy? Roger

Advertisement
First of all, if this is your first game (even if you are an experienced programmer) I would suggest trying your hand at a Tetris clone (or something similar like Pong, Breakout, whatever.) This will really help you to get used to handling the Windows/Direct X stuff without haveing to worry about any complex game mechanics. (Check out the article on this site, "A Path to Game Development" or something like that, its a wonderful article.)

At any rate, if you are intent on tackling a TBS game right of the bat then I would have to say that either method should work fine. Are you planning on making the game fullscreen or windowed? (MFC or no?) A little more info would make it easier to figure our the pros and cons of each approach.