Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Zakalwe

Looking for some advice.

Zakalwe    122
Im looking for a bit of advice on starting games programming but dont completely know where to go from the stage Im currently at. Im not completely new to programming, Im currently studying computing science at university and have already completed a semester of C/C++ programming, culminating in a console based Blackjack game, but with no real object oriented programming as of yet, but hopefully this should give a rough idea about the sort of stage I am at with C/C++. I also done an introductory module to games development the same semester in darkBASIC at the end of which I had submitted a small pacman style game, which wasnt great, but taught me alot of the basic fundamentals of 2D programming. What I want to know is where I should go from here? Although I didnt have much of a problem with the darkBASIC language, I really didnt like the IDE and dont want to continue using it. I want to try and get started with directX, but should I first of all try and improve my C++ programming before I start with this? Even although I do enjoy programming normal applications, my main interest in programming is towards games and I would like to just launch straight into this even though it may be a bit difficult - but Im ready for a challenge . I did look at the begginers section on the site and have downloaded the directX SDK, but still didnt really know whereabouts to go from here. Sorry for the length of this post - any advice would be much appreciated . Thanks.

__seeker__    122
I would say continue learning OOP before trying advanced games. It wouldn''t be too difficult to make a Tetris clone without classes or OOP. I made one relatively quickly using classes, but without *real* object-oriented programming (no inheritance or polymorphism).