Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

alain_desilets

My 10yr old son wants to write a computer game

alain_desilets    122
I am a programmer with 15 years of experience but no game development (or even computer graphics) experience. My 10yr old son would like to write a computer game with me. He would do the game design and maybe some of the graphics and I would handle all the programming side. I am aware that most games are multi-million dollar projects that take 1 to 2 years to complete, so I have to manage his expectations. Here are some alternatives I thought of: A) creating a simple 2D or quasi 3D game (pac-man or supermario style) B) joining an OpenSource project that''s developing a game Can anyone suggest other alternatives? For alternative A), can anyone suggest books, web sites, toolkits that would help a very amateur game developer and his son to build such a simple game? Note that I haven''t written a line of C/C++ in 8 years and hope that won''t change. Nowadays, I do most of my programming in perl, Python and Java (often connecting them to C/C++ libraries so I can use their high-performance code from a language where I don''t have to worrry about such menial things as memory management). For alterntive B), can anyone suggest an OpenSource project that''s building a game that a 10yr old and his dad could take part in (no shoot-em-up Quake types of games of course). Thx Alain Désilets Research Officer National Research Council of Canada BTW: I tried to access the archives of this mailing list at: http://www.tpu.org/pipermail/tpu-gamedev/ but got a Not Found error.

sark    104
First thing i want to say is that i think its cool that you want to help your son with making his game.

To look for open-source projects, www.sourceforge.net and www.freshmeat.net.