• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dreddnafious Maelstrom

VB programmer, struggling with Cpp

This topic is 5678 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok guys, anyone feel like helping out? I''ve written a graphics engine in visual basic, works well, was lots of fun etc... Im now trying to write a graphics engine in Cpp, using VC++. i understand (at least academically) the various constructs of C++. (ie pointers, classes, polymorphism, templates) The problem im having is quite noobish, but im going to ask anyway. my biggest issue with the new language thus far, has been understanding the linking and includes etc.(VB hides most of this from you) Ok, and now the problem. to make this simple, my major issue is how to make a variable global throughout the project. for examplei dont have the SDK here at work so the syntax is obviously going to be jacked) at the top of my main .cpp file i declare IDIRECT3DDEVICE8 g_pD3Ddevice; (im actually using dx9, but cant remember the type name.) So inside this cpp file i can do anything i want with the device and all is well, but in my mesh class (for example) when i try to use my g_pD3Ddevice->Setrenderstate (or whatever) it kicks me the **error, ->setrenderstate must have a class,struct, or union to its left. Basically telling me that it doesnt know what the hell im talking about. It also gives me the undefined type error. Ive experimented with a bunch of different oddball includes and such, ive also looked around in various tutorials(mostly in the SDK) and i can see examples of other files using variables declared in completely different files.(which is what im struggling with) but i cant seem to put 2 and 2 together. If i comment out the class function member that makes reference to the d3ddevice then it compiles just fine, but when i leave