• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Inpho

Text RPG

This topic is 5675 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, This is my first post. I''ve been looking for an active forum, and this place appears to be just that..I started programming in Qbasic, of course starting out with wanting to make a simple TEXT RPG..Almost two years and seven unfinished attempts later, I''m now working on another, this time in C++. While my other two in C++ were a giant step from my Qbasic days. Each one outdating the other. My newest is now Object Orientedish, and with alot more experience behind it..But what im somewhat stuck on now is making a decent battle engine, this time its not just a random number and your attack, minus a random number and their defense.. But I cant really figure out a good one, IF anyone can lend their ideas, perhaps a dice system or something dealing with the main attributes I am using, Strenght, Wisdom, Dexterity, Damage, Accuracy.. I hope this makes any sense. I look forward to using this forum alot, and thanks in advance. If you want to help out, or maybe need help on a project you can also try Emailing me at, foxglow17@hotmail.com Inpho

Advertisement
I''d suggest a system I call ''weighted dice.'' Quite simply, you have your random-number-times-attack/defence thing, but you add other factors to the equation.

A damp room could make your armour rusty and therefore less defensive.

A magic ring could make your sword more effective.

If you''re hungry or tired, or have low morale, your attack rating goes down.